Beauty Products and Experts

It’s been said that doing something for 10,000 hours is what it takes to become an expert on a particular subject. In that case, some people might consider me an expert on beauty products, especially makeup. People on Facebook are suddenly experts on viruses and health and they clearly haven’t spent 10,000 hours doing anything healthy. If I want health advice, I’ll talk to an actual doctor. If I want makeup advice, I go to friends or visit beauty blogs. One of those subjects needs an actual expert and one of those subjects just requires some new product recommendations. Anyhow, here’s some beauty products that I’m loving lately:

NYX Shine Loud Lipstick: I love Sengence Lipsense but hate that I have to order it and wait awhile to get it. I saw this on TikTok but put off buying it for a long time since I’m so picky. I finally purchased some of this two weeks ago and loved it so much I immediately went back to get another color. I put this on at 6:30 am and it lasted through breakfast, lunch, workouts, and dinner out. It’s not drying or gross feeling either. Trust me on this one.

Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder: I kept seeing every YouTube makeup artist use this years ago but never wanted to spend the money. I have a horrible time finding powder that actually works on my oily skin and I’ve never had good luck with white setting powders. Then Laura Mercier put out setting powder in different colors so I decided to try it. I purchased the shade Honey and it’s perfect. It works whether I’m tan or pale and it actually helps control shine. Bonus: I don’t have to wear as much liquid foundation when I use this.

MAC Studio Fix Concealer: This is an oldie but a goodie. I wore this everyday in my younger years and quit because I lived too far away from a MAC Counter. Now that I live closer to a MAC counter (hallelujah!) I use this again. This covers my undereye circles and evens out skin. It’s pretty full coverage but can be used sparingly too. If you’re worried about using too much, use your ring finger to pat it on and blend it.

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Cream Lipstick: I got a sample of this and it’s my favorite! Liquid lipstick is great but sometimes you just need a nice cream lipstick. The shade Lolita is my absolute favorite. It’s a perfect pink rose tint and it looks good with anything.

Buff City Soap: One of these stores just opened in my city this spring. I’d never heard of them but I love it! They make their products right in the store so everything is fresh and not sitting on a shelf for a year. You can also bring your kid in to paint their own bath bomb. I’m hoping to do that next time my granddaughter is in town. I wasn’t so sure about bar soap but I really like it because it makes my skin soft. My favorite scent is Narcissist. I got some for my husband and he also loves it. My house is stocked with their foaming soap and I’ve also used their laundry detergent and wool dryer balls.

Kenra Dry Oil Conditioning Mist: I use this when I curl my hair and when I straighten it. It really helps to make my hair feel nice without weighing it down. When I straighten my hair, I spray it on before I flat iron it. When I curl my hair, I spray it on before I break up the curls. Speaking of hair, I didn’t realize my post about washing my hair only once a week would get so many messages. Damn, people really have some opinions on hair washing! Everyone’s hair is different. One of my friends can wash and dry hers in 15 minutes. If my hair could do that, I’d probably wash it more often. But it doesn’t so I use product to make it look good.

Those are just a few of the things I’m loving lately. I’m also loving getting my nails done every 2 or 3 weeks after a few years of doing my own. For some reason, choosing a color to wear for my nails seems like a major decision some days. Summer is winding down and fall is coming. Two of my stepkids came to visit and we had a lot of fun going to the outlet mall and water park. I know so many people love little kids but I do better with older kids and teens. Being able to carry on an actual conversation is much more fun to me. Fall is coming and every fashion blogger is putting out posts about fall fashion and fall decorating. I like fall but I’m not ready for it when it’s 100 degrees outside. Keep your pumpkin spice latte away from my margarita (I rarely actually drink margaritas anymore) Sometime in September I’ll change my decor around. The weather doesn’t get a chill until November or maybe October. Hobby Lobby has Christmas decor out already which is way too early in my opinion. I’m going to clean out my fall decor and bring some of it to a consignment shop. If I’m not using it, I may as well make money off of it! I better sign off now and get to doing that….

Have a great day!

**All opinions are my own. I am not compensated for this post**

One comment

Leave a comment